a

Presentation of the Pavilion of France

The International Specialized Exhibition Astana EXPO-2017 will be held on a site located 8 kilometers away from the historical center of Astana with a total surface of 175 hectares.

The main exhibition site covers 25 hectares. National pavilions will be located inside 14 identical U-shaped buildings. These pavilions will offer 47.160 m² of exhibition space on the ground floor and 9.710 m² within covered patios.

The Pavilion of France is located in one of the 14 U-shaped buildings forming almost a circle in the center of the exhibition site each building being organized around one of the interior patios facing towards a circular boulevard.

France benefits from one of the largest surfaces available within national pavilions for participating countries (1083 m²) to bring forward its technological excellence and companies in future energies.

In addition to the exhibition space on the ground floor of the French pavilion, the general Commission of France has 700 m² at its disposition on the first floor. It includes on the one hand, a large multipurpose room (around 100 sits) for technical presentations, working meetings and conferences and on the other hand, general Commission team’s offices.

Façade

Visite of the Pavilion

Façade and antechamber

Upon arriving into the Pavilion of France, the visitors are immediately plunged into the festive and energetic atmosphere of French celebrations and gatherings through the projection on a giant screen of a movie by the French « Flair production ».

While waiting in line, they can lift their head and admire a modern and sensual Marianne realized by the street artist Yann Dalon. The Pavilion opens on an antechamber adorned with mirrors that projects and reflects images of French energy to the sound of French music.

The Pavilion is set up in eight different spaces, conceived and created under the supervision of the High Commissariat of France by its eights partners. The spaces are linked by historical corridors in which each partner highlights an important French figure.

TOTAL

The writer and poet Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, author of The Little Prince, is the first major French figure to guide the visitors inside the Pavilion. This French hero, who was also a pioneering aviator, was chosen by Total to introduce its space. In the center of the room, a huge terrestrial globe projects high-resolution pictures of the Earth surface evolving from day to night, subject to storms… Interactive wheels provide information on three types of energies via animations and pictures: future energies, bio-energies and solar energies, topics that are central to the theme of Expo. Around the globe, screens give further information on Total and its objectives. Before leaving the room, the visitors can receive the message of Total in the hollow of their hands, to be reminded of the importance of engagement towards new energies. This message opens the way to all of the other spaces of the Pavilion.

VICAT

The famous French engineer Louis Vicat, who at the beginning of the 19th century invented artificial cement during the construction of the Souillac bridge (Dordogne river), introduces the visitors to the second space of the Pavilion. Louis Vicat chose to give his discovery to the scientific community by not filing a patent and it was his son, Joseph Vicat, who created in 1853 the French cement group present on this space. The room opens on a Haussmanien apartment that illustrates various creative uses of concrete. The installation “Mini Agua” by the French artist Milène Guermont built in a thin, poly-sensorial concrete produces different sounds when the visitors touch it, depending on their magnetic field. Many “concrete” objects from daily life are also exposed, like an armchair designed by Le Corbusier, cast in concrete by the Vicat Group on the occasion of the Expo. A projection of the city of future as seen by Vicat through its past and future projects is followed by a gallery of innovative technologies exposed vertically, such as a vegetalized wall, a translucent concrete, and solar panels encapsulated in concrete. Crealino, a playful playground creature invented by Vicat, animates the end of the space to entertain our younger visitors.

SAINT-GOBAIN

The visitors directly enter into the space dedicated to Saint-Gobain, French leader in habitat. This firm was founded in 1665 by the Minister of Finance of Louis XIV and contributed to the construction of the Hall of Mirrors of the Palace of Versailles. The Saint-Gobain space invites the visitors to discover the prototype of a comfortable, energetically optimal house according to its « Multicomfort concept » based on thermal, acoustic, visual and air comfort. A first area focuses on thermal comfort thanks to three panels, which illustrate how different isolation materials can lead to differences in comfort and energy optimization. A second corridor looks at acoustic comfort through a sound-absorbing « eco-background » that allows the visitors to realize how different acoustic environments lead to differences in acoustic comfort. An experimentation illustrates the sound absorption by the material of the acoustic corridor through an acoustic shower which can be directed towards a mirror or towards a sample of the « eco-background ».

PEUGEOT

The Peugeot company, introduced by its visionary member Armand Peugeot, invented in 1995 one of the first electric cars in the world. It is a futurist hybrid electric model, the concept car Peugeot Quartz, that Peugeot presents at the International Exhibition in Astana. This new approach to high-end sports models combines the body of an SUV with the qualities of a sedan, and associates a gasoline motor with two electric ones. The hybrid car exposed in exclusivity at the Pavilion of France also reveals different innovative materials such as woven fabric used as a world premiere and obtained by plastic recycling. The Peugeot space exposes many other sustainable mobility technologies such as an electric motorcycle, bicycle and scooter. Touch screens are displayed around the room in order for the visitors to discover a variety of innovative Peugeot technologies via 21 key dates.

ITER

Marie Curie was a pioneer in the research on radioactivity, the first woman to receive a Nobel Prize and the only woman laureate of two Nobel prizes. She introduces the visitors to the space of the Pavilion dedicated to the international organization ITER (« way » in latin). The ITER organization brings together 35 countries, among which the European Union is one of the seven pillar members. The organization works on the feasibility of large-scale fusion as a net source of energy. At the entrance of the ITER space, a photo of the Sun reminds us that fusion reactions are constantly happening in stars including the Sun. Many informative panels elaborate on the complex mechanisms of fusion, as well as the history and goals of ITER. Projections on large screens disclose the progress of the works on the prototype of a fusion reactor, currently under construction in the south of France (St-Paul-les-Durances). This « tokamak » should start its first experimentations in 2025. A huge map of the machine allows the visitor to discover the structure and the collaborative work of the ITER members in the fabrication and assembly of its different pieces. Finally, a pineapple illustrates the size of the fuel, mix of deuterium and tritium, that would be needed to produce 1 Gigawatt of energy in the ITER reactor.

VEOLIA

Louis Pasteur, famous French chemist and pioneer physician in microbiology, well-known for his discoveries of pasteurization and the rabbies vaccination, leads the visitors into the space of the company Veolia, a French multinational company specialized in the management of water, waste and energy. The space invites the visitors to discover virtuous energy loops through a visual and tactile journey. A huge interactive wall gives way to the animation of three examples of energetic cycles: the valorization of waste water, the use of water to provide energy to urban heating systems, and the transformation of household waste into energy and heating. Another wall illustrates the diversity of cities where Veolia is present worldwide. At the center of the space, glass installations hold three types of waste: wood, paper and plastic.

SYCTOM

Antoine Lavoisier, one of the founders of modern chemistry, introduces the visitors to the space of Syctom. His famous maxim “Nothing is lost, nothing is created, everything is transformed” applied to chemistry is also one of the founding principles of the French management of waste and of circular economy. An antechamber of contemporary art opens the space of Syctom, the public agency that treats the waste of Paris and 83 surrounding cities. A triptych video of a waste cascade with sound effects introduces through the senses the visitors to the problematic of waste management. Then, a historic corridor shows that this problematic is not recent through a series of photos from the beginning of the 20th century. These photos display the work of the “chiffoniers” who recycled waste from the waste-container boats in the Parisian region. The next room is round and very bright, almost medical-like. It looks at the different forms of retreatment of waste operated by Syctom such as the production of heat and electricity from waste incineration. Two future projects of Syctom are also presented: the production of bio-plastic using the carbon dioxide contained in incineration smokes, and the production of gas from a methane reaction between mud and biological household waste. This space also presents the recycling chains of different materials, a topic that is developed in the next corridor. This last part of the Syctom space in the Pavilion of France shows videos of the different recycling steps and exposes recycled objects and primary material. The end of the corridor focuses on Syctom’s incineration work and energy production via films and photos of its plants.

AGENCY FOR THE ENVIRONMENT AND THE MANAGEMENT OF ENERGY (ADEME)

The last space of the Pavilion invites you to travel with Jules Vernes, French novelist and inventor of many timeless universes. This last space is devoted to The Agency for the Environment and the Management of Energy (ADEME), currently under the supervision of the Ministry of Ecological and Solidary Transition and the Ministry of High Education, Research and Innovation. Founded in 1991, the mission of the ADEME is to stimulate and to support projects that aim at protecting the environment or deal with the management of energy.  The center of the room displays a huge hot-air balloon, echo to the novel Five Weeks in a Balloon. The journey continues with projections of innovative technologies from six French companies supported by the ADEME: wind turbines (Freyssiwind, Vergnier), submarine turbines (Sabella), flying turbines inspired from wind turbines (Bladetips Energy) and solar panels which orient themselves according to sunlight (Exosun, Cythelia). The ADEME focuses on renewable energies, intelligent electric systems, energy conversion and industrial energetic performances. It thematically presents on the walls of its space 60 small and medium enterprises laureates of its investment program for the future. The Pavilion, which opened up on a globe, ends with a hot-air balloon, a French innovation from the end of the 18th century, to allow the visitors to take off. The ADEME space offers a retrospective on the variety of energetic and environmental sectors in which a multiplicity of actors are working today to create the world of tomorrow.

END OF THE JOURNEY

Upon leaving the Pavilion, the visitors can admire, displayed around the building, large photos by different French artists that illustrate the beauty and diversity of French regions, including its oversea departments. This visual journey brings the visitors back to the central loop of Expo meanwhile allowing them to travel through the landscapes of France.

a

Présentation du Pavillon de la France

Le site choisi pour l’Exposition internationale d’Astana 2017 se trouve à 8 kilomètres du centre historique d’Astana. Sa superficie totale est 175 hectares.

Le site principal de l’Exposition internationale d’Astana 2017 s’étend sur 25 hectares. 14 bâtiments en U identiques abriteront les pavillons nationaux. Ces pavillons couvriront 47160 m²

Le Pavillon de la France est intégré dans l’un des 14 bâtiments qui forment un demi-cercle au centre du site de l’exposition. Chaque bâtiment dispose d’une cour intérieure couverte (patio) orientée vers un boulevard circulaire.

La France bénéficie d’une des plus grandes superficies mises à la disposition des pays participants sur le site de l’Exposition internationale, soit 1083m²

Hors cet espace d’exposition au rez-de-chaussée du Pavillon de la France, le Commissariat général dispose de 700 m² au premier étage, comprenant d’une part une grande salle de plus de 100 places assises destinée à accueillir des présentations techniques, des réunions de travail et des conférences, et, d’autre part, un espace aménagé pour les bureaux du Commissariat général de la France.

Façade

Visite du Pavillon

Façade et antichambre

A leur arrivée au Pavillon de la France, les visiteurs sont tout de suite plongés dans l’ambiance festive et énergique de célébrations et rassemblements français par la projection sur écran géant d’un film de la production française « Flair Production ».

Dans la file d’attente, ils peuvent lever la tête et admirer une Marianne moderne et sensuelle réalisée par le street artist Yann Dalon. Le Pavillon s’ouvre par une antichambre de miroirs dans laquelle les images de l’énergie des français sont projetées et reflétées au son de musiques françaises.

Le Pavillon s’articule ensuite en huit espaces, chacun ayant été conçu et réalisé, sous la supervision du Commissariat général, par l’un de ses huit partenaires. Les espaces sont reliés par des couloirs historiques où chaque partenaire a pu mettre en valeur une grande figure française.

TOTAL

L’écrivain et poète Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, auteur du Petit Prince, est la première grande figure française à guider les visiteurs vers l’intérieur du Pavillon. Ce héros français également pionnier de l’aviation a été choisi par l’entreprise française Total afin d’introduire son espace, au coeur duquel un grand globe terrestre permet d’admirer des images hautes résolutions de la surface de la Terre en mouvement, passant du jour à la nuit, traversant des orages… Des roues interactives fournissent via des animations et des images de nombreuses informations sur les énergies du futur, les bioénergies et les énergies solaires, sujets au coeur de la thématique de l’Expo. Des écrans autour du globe permettent également d’en savoir plus sur Total. A la sortie de l’espace, les visiteurs peuvent recevoir au creux de leurs mains le message de Total rappelant l’importance de l’engagement vers de nouvelles énergies, message qui ouvre la voie vers l’ensemble des espaces du Pavillon.

VICAT

Le célèbre ingénieur français Louis Vicat, inventeur du ciment artificiel au début du 19e siècle lors de la construction du Pont de Souillac sur la Dordogne, introduit les visiteurs dans le deuxième espace du Pavillon de la France. Louis Vicat n’avait pas déposé de brevet sur sa découverte, préférant la donner à la communauté scientifique, et c’est son fils Joseph Vicat qui crée en 1853 le groupe cimentier français Vicat présent dans cet espace. Celui-ci s’ouvre par un appartement parisien de style Haussmannien qui permet de découvrir plusieurs utilisations créatives du béton. L’installation “Mini Agua” de l’artiste française Milène Guermont, construite dans un béton fin et polysensoriel, produit au toucher un son différent selon le champ magnétique des visiteurs. Plusieurs objets “bétonnés” de la vie quotidienne, dont un fauteuil dessiné par l’architecte Le Corbusier et coulé en béton par le groupe Vicat à l’occasion d’Astana-2017, sont également exposés. Une projection de la ville du futur vue par Vicat à travers ses projets passés et à venir invite ensuite à découvrir plusieurs technologies innovantes du groupe exposées à la verticale, dont un mur végétalisé, un béton translucide et des panneaux solaires encapsulés dans du béton. Créalino, une créature ludique des aires de jeux signée Vicat, anime la fin de l’espace pour le plus grand plaisir de nos jeunes visiteurs.

SAINT-GOBAIN

Les visiteurs pénètrent directement dans l’espace consacré à Saint-Gobain, leader français de l’habitat fondé en 1665 par le ministre des finances de Louis XIV et qui contribua à la construction de la Galerie des glaces du château de Versailles. L’espace Saint-Gobain invite les visiteurs à découvrir le prototype d’une maison confortable et optimale d’un point de vue énergétique selon son concept de “Multiconfort”, fondé sur le confort thermique, acoustique, visuel, et de l’air intérieur. Une première partie de l’espace présente le confort thermique à travers trois panneaux qui intègrent différentes isolations, et dont l’un en particulier dispose d’un isolant Saint-Gobain permettant d’obtenir une température agréable tout en minimisant les consommations d’énergie. Un écran thermique permet de visualiser les différences de chaleur émise par ces trois panneaux, ainsi que par les différentes parties du corps des visiteurs. La seconde partie de l’espace s’intéresse au confort acoustique. Un couloir fait d’une matière dite “éco-fond” absorbant les bruits permet de prendre conscience des différences acoustiques et du confort qui ressort d’un environnement où l’acoustique est optimisée. Une expérimentation permet ensuite de vérifier l’absorption des sons par la matière du couloir acoustique, grâce à une douche acoustique qui peut être dirigée soit vers un miroir, soit vers un échantillon de l’éco-fond.

PEUGEOT

La société Peugeot, introduite par son visionnaire Armand Peugeot, a inventé en 1995 l’une des premières voitures électriques au monde. C’est justement un modèle de voiture électrique hybride et futuriste, la “concept car Peugeot Quartz”, qu’elle présente à l’Exposition internationale d’Astana. Cette nouvelle expression de la sportivité  haut-de-gamme fusionne une carrosserie de SUV et les qualités d’une berline en associant un moteur essence et deux moteurs électriques. La voiture hybride exposée en exclusivité au Pavillon de la France révèle également des matériaux innovants, notamment un textile obtenu par tissage numérique, employé en première mondiale et issu du recyclage de matières plastiques. Au-delà du prototype Quartz, l’espace Peugeot expose plusieurs technologies de mobilité durable dont un scooter, un vélo et une trottinette électriques. Différents écrans tactiles disposés au fil du parcours permettent également de voyager dans le passé et dans les années à venir afin de découvrir les innovations technologiques de Peugeot via 21 dates clefs.

ITER

Marie Curie, pionnière dans la recherche sur la radioactivité, première femme à avoir reçu un prix Nobel et seule femme lauréate de deux prix Nobel, nous introduit à l’espace du Pavillon consacré à l’organisation internationale ITER (“chemin” en latin). ITER, collaboration internationale réunissant 35 pays et parmi lesquels l’Union européenne fait partie des sept membres piliers, travaille sur la faisabilité de la fusion à grande-échelle comme source nette d’énergie. En entrant sur l’espace ITER, une image du soleil rappelle que les réactions de fusion ont lieu en permanence dans les étoiles. Plusieurs panneaux explicatifs se penchent sur les mécanismes complexes de la fusion ainsi que l’histoire et les objectifs d’ITER. Des projections grand écran dévoilent le cours des travaux du premier prototype de réacteur à fusion, actuellement en construction dans le sud de la France (St-Paul-les-Durances). Ce “tokamak” devrait accueillir les premières expérimentations en 2025. Un grand plan de la machine permet de découvrir sa structure et le travail collaboratif des membres d’ITER dans la fabrication et l’assemblement de ses différentes pièces. Enfin, un ananas sous verre illustre la taille de combustible utilisé dans le réacteur, un mélange de deutérium et de tritium, requis afin de produire 1 Gigawatt d’énergie.

VEOLIA

Louis Pasteur, chimiste et physicien pionnier de la microbiologie, célèbre pour ses découvertes de la pasteurisation et du vaccin contre la rage, emmène les visiteurs vers l’espace de la société Veolia, multinationale française spécialisée dans la gestion de l’eau, des déchets et de l’énergie. L’espace invite à la découverte des boucles vertueuses pour l’énergie à travers un parcours visuel et tactile. Un grand mur interactif permet d’animer trois exemples de cycles énergétiques: la valorisation des eaux usées, l’utilisation des ressources de l’eau pour fournir de l’énergie aux systèmes de chauffage urbains, et la transformation des déchets ménagers en énergie et chauffage. L’espace illustre via un mur de photos la diversité des villes où Veolia est présent à l’international. Au centre de l’espace, des installations en verre présentent les échantillons de trois types de déchets: bois, papier et plastique.

SYCTOM

Antoine Lavoisier, l’un des fondateurs de la chimie moderne, introduit les visiteurs vers l’espace Syctom. Sa célèbre maxime “Rien ne se perd, rien ne se crée, tout se transforme” appliquée à la chimie est également l’un des principes fondateurs de la gestion française des déchets et de l’économie circulaire. L’espace du Syctom, agence de service public qui traite les déchets de de Paris et de 83 villes environnantes, s’ouvre d’abord sur une antichambre d’art contemporain. Une vidéo en triptyque d’une cascade de déchets accompagnée d’effets sonores introduisent par les sens à la problématique de la gestion des déchets. Ensuite, un couloir historique montre que cette problématique est loin d’être nouvelle à travers plusieurs photographies du début du 20e siècle, où l’on peut observer le travail des chiffonniers récupérant certains déchets sur des bateaux dans la région parisienne. La salle suivante, de forme arrondie et à l’éclairage quasi médical, s’intéresse aux différentes formes de traitement des déchets qui permettent notamment à partir de leur incinération de produire de la chaleur et de l’électricité. Deux projets futurs du Syctom sont également présentés : la production de bioplastiques en utilisant le dioxyde de carbone contenu dans les fumées issues de l’incinération, et la production de gaz à partir d’une réaction de méthane entre les boues et une fraction des déchets ménagers biologiques. Cet espace présente également les chaînes de recyclage de différents matériaux, thématique qui est développée dans le couloir suivant. Celui-ci est parsemé de vidéos illustrant les diverses étapes du recyclage et expose des objets et des matières primaires issus du recyclage. La fin du couloir s’intéresse au travail d’incinération et de production d’énergie du Syctom par le biais de films et photographies de l’intérieur des usines.

AGENCE DE L’ENVIRONNEMENT ET DE LA MAITRISE DE L’ENERGIE (ADEME)

Le dernier espace du Pavillon invite au voyage, tout d’abord aux côtés de Jules Verne, écrivain français et inventeur de nombreux univers hors du temps. Il nous emmène dans l’espace de l’Agence de l’Environnement et de la Maîtrise de l’Energie (ADEME), actuellement sous la tutelle du ministère de la Transition écologique et solidaire et du ministère de l’Enseignement supérieur, de la Recherche et de l’Innovation. Fondée en 1991, la mission de l’ADEME est de stimuler et soutenir des projets visant à protéger l’environnement et la gestion de l’énergie. Au coeur de son espace au Pavillon de la France, une immense montgolfière, clin d’oeil au roman Cinq semaines en ballon, nous fait poursuivre le voyage en projetant les technologies innovantes de six entreprises françaises qu’elle soutient : éoliennes (Freyssiwind, Vergnier) et éoliennes sous-marines (Sabella), turbines volantes inspirées des éoliennes (Bladetips Energy) et panneaux solaires qui s’orientent vers la lumière du soleil (Exosun, Cythelia).  L’ADEME s’intéresse à une variété de sujets tels que les énergies renouvelables, les systèmes électriques intelligents, la conversion de l’énergie, les performances énergétiques dans l’industrie et les bâtiments, et présente thématiquement sur les murs de l’espace 60 petites et moyennes entreprises lauréates de son programme d’investissement pour le futur. Le Pavillon, qui s’ouvrait sur un globe terrestre, se termine avec une montgolfière, innovation française de la fin du 18e siècle, afin de permettre aux visiteurs de prendre leur envol. L’espace ADEME offre une rétrospective sur la variété des thématiques énergétiques et environnementales, ainsi que sur la multiplicité des acteurs dont le travail d’aujourd’hui façonne le monde de demain.

FIN DU VOYAGE

A la sortie du Pavillon, des photographies grand format de plusieurs artistes français sont affichées le long du bâtiment et illustrent la beauté et diversité des provinces françaises, y compris des régions d’Outre-mer. Ce parcours visuel permet aux visiteurs de regagner l’anneau central de l’Exposition, tout en voyageant au fil des paysages de France.