a

Discussion with Olzhas Suleimenov on his life dedicated to culture and the protection of the environment: a moment of wisdom, History and emotion

Rencontre avec Oljas Souleimenov

Discussion with Olzhas Suleimenov on his life dedicated to culture and the protection of the environment: a moment of wisdom, History and emotion

The Pavilion of France was honored to welcome on June 16th, 2017, an incredible man, Mr Olzhas Suleimenov, writer and poet, Ambassador of Kazakhstan in Rome and at UNESCO, and founder of the international antinuclear movement « Nevada-Semey ». This renown figure in Kazakhstan and worldwide visited the Pavilion of France before animating a moving discussion in the conference room of the Pavilion around his life experience in culture and the protection of the environment.

DSC_0035

Mr Suleimenov highlighted the importance of the Astana Expo at a moment of our History where « energy for the future is a top priority for humanity ». « How can we move away from coal, hydrogen, nuclear energy, and come up with renewable energies that will not destroy us? ». Olzhas Suleimenov considers that it is thanks to events which bring together scientists from all over the world and the general public that we will come closer to « this moment [of renewable energies] that we are impatiently waiting for ».

The founder of an international antinuclear movement however warned that because of ecological disasters, humanity is fixing the date at which its civilization will end. In order to avoid this, each citizen on the planet should be an ecologist. Olzhas Suleimenov encouraged us to imagine energetic alternatives such as the one presented by ITER in the Pavilion of France and solar energies that would replace nuclear energy, coal and oil. The platforms that allow us to explore such alternatives are useful and essential, « they force us to direct all of the energy in our thoughts towards the right direction », concluded M. Suleimenov.

The conference ended with a moving recitation of a poem by its author who, at 81 years old, reminded us that poetry which serves a human and environmental cause is one of the most beautiful anthems to life.

 unnamed-4

DSC_0087

Share With:

a

Rencontre avec Oljas Souleimenov au sujet de sa vie autour de la culture et de la protection de l’environnement : un moment de sagesse, d’Histoire et d’émotion

Rencontre avec Oljas Souleimenov

Rencontre avec Oljas Souleimenov au sujet de sa vie autour de la culture et de la protection de l’environnement : un moment de sagesse, d’Histoire et d’émotion

Le Pavillon de la France a eu l’honneur ce vendredi 16 juin 2017 d’accueillir un homme d’exception, M. Oljas Souleimenov, écrivain-poète, Ambassadeur du Kazakhstan à Rome puis à l’UNESCO, et fondateur du mouvement antinucléaire international « Nevada-Semey ». Cette personnalité très connue et respectée par le Kazakhstan entier et au-delà a visité le Pavillon de la France avant de prendre part à un moment de partage avec un public ému dans la salle de conférences du Pavillon au sujet de sa vie autour de la culture et de la protection de l’environnement.

DSC_0035

M. Souleimenov a souligné toute l’importance de l’Exposition d’Astana à un moment de notre Histoire où « l’énergie pour l’avenir est à l’ordre du jour de toute l’humanité ». « Comment pouvons-nous sortir de la combustion du charbon, de l’hydrogène, de l’énergie nucléaire, et en venir à une énergie renouvelable, une énergie qui n’est pas destructrice pour nous ? ». C’est par de tels événements, qui réunissent scientifiques du monde entier et grand public, qu’Oljas Souleimenov considère que nous nous rapprochons de ce moment « que nous attendons avec impatience ».

Le fondateur du mouvement antinucléaire international prévient tout de même que par les désastres écologiques, l’humanité est en train de fixer la date à laquelle la civilisation cessera d’exister. Afin d’éviter cela, chaque citoyen de la planète se doit d’être un écologiste. C’est à travers des projets tels que celui d’ITER, présenté dans le Pavillon de la France, qu’Oljas Souleimenov nous encourage à imaginer des alternatives énergétiques, une énergie solaire qui remplacerait le nucléaire, le charbon, le pétrole. Les plateformes qui permettent d’envisager ces alternatives sont utiles et essentielles, « elles nous forcent à diriger toute l’énergie de nos pensées dans la bonne direction », conclut M. Souleimenov.

La rencontre s’est terminée avec beaucoup d’émotion par la récitation du poème « Le champ sauvage » par son auteur qui, à 81 ans, nous rappelle que la poésie au service d’une cause humaine et environnementale est un des plus beaux hymnes à la vie.

 unnamed-4

DSC_0087

Share With: