a

Syctom

Syctom

syctom-lorenzo-m

Martial Lorenzo, Director-General Syctom

Logo Syctom

for more information
www.syctom-paris.fr

Why did you decide to join the French pavilion?

In first place, it is an honour. One cannot refuse the opportunity to demonstrate the industrial know-how and original approach of waste treatment by a public service, which is unique in Europe.

Moreover, it is an opportunity to explain how, during the period of the energy transition, fossil fuels can be partly replaced by energy recovery in order to power heat and electricity networks, in particular in the dense urban environment of major cities.

What innovations do you intend to present?

We will be looking at both innovation and transformation. Major cities are henceforth considered from the point of view of an urban metabolism which needs to move towards autonomy, producing what it needs in situ while also recycling the waste that it generates on-site.

The story of this transformation deserves to be told, since it is henceforth being repeated and accelerating in all major international cities. In France it took about 150 years for this idea of the unity of time and place to be manifested in high-tech industrial facilities, whether with regard to the treatment of household and industrial waste or sanitation. We are going to tell this story, since it has great significance as a means of convincing visitors, if need be, of urban areas’ capacity for resilience.We will be presenting environmental and technological innovations which illustrate this creativity.

What does Kazakhstan represent for you?

This fascinating country has recently come to occupy the forefront of the international scene. For two reasons, its ambition and the demands which it applies in terms of environmental policies. In a field where we have taken the time to experiment, to succeed, sometimes to make mistakes and to make careful progress in these areas, Kazakhstan illustrates the will to perform well or better, but at a very rapid pace. I consider that the pooling of expertise brings us together in terms of new awareness of the rapidity of change and of the urgency of the environmental situation.

Interview of November 4, 2016.

Share With:

a

Syctom

Syctom

syctom-lorenzo-m

Martial Lorenzo, Directeur général du Syctom

Logo Syctom

pour en savoir plus
www.syctom-paris.fr

Pourquoi avez-vous décidé de vous joindre au pavillon français ?

Tout d’abord c’est un privilège. Avoir l’occasion de démontrer un savoir-faire industriel et une approche originale, unique en Europe, du traitement des déchets par un service public ne se refuse pas.

En outre, c’est l’occasion d’expliquer comment l’énergie de récupération, pendant le temps de la transition énergétique peut, pour partie se substituer à l’énergie fossile et alimenter des réseaux de chaleur et d’électricité, en particulier dans un milieu urbain dense, qui est celui des métropoles.

Quelles sont les innovations que vous souhaitez y présenter ?

Il s’agira tout autant d’innovation que de mutation. Les métropoles sont désormais considérées du point de vue d’un métabolisme urbain qui doit tendre vers l’autonomie en produisant in situ ce qui lui est nécessaire et en recyclant également sur place les excrétas qu’il génère.

Cette mutation mérite d’être racontée car elle se répète en accéléré désormais dans toutes les grandes métropoles mondiales. Il a fallu 150 ans en France environ pour que cette idée d’unité de temps et de lieu soit traduite en installations industrielles de pointe, qu’il s’agisse du traitement des déchets ménagers et industriels ou d’assainissement. Nous allons raconter cette histoire car elle est porteuse de sens pour, s’il en est besoin, assurer les visiteurs de la capacité de résilience portée par les agglomérations. Les innovations environnementales et technologiques que nous présenterons illustreront cette créativité.

Qu’est-ce que le Kazakhstan représente pour vous ?

Ce pays occupe le devant de la scène internationale depuis peu et fascine. Pour deux raisons, son ambition et l’exigence appliquée aux politiques environnementales. Là où nous avons pris le temps d’expérimenter, de réussir, de nous tromper parfois et d’avancer prudemment dans ces domaines, le Kazakhstan illustre la volonté de faire bien ou mieux, mais très vite. Je considère que le partage d’expertise nous réunit autour de cette prise de conscience de la rapidité des évolutions et des urgences environnementales.

Interview du 8 Novembre 2016.

Share With: