a

Total

Total

Pascal Bréant

Pascal Bréant, Total Group representative in Kazakhstan and Managing Director of Total E&P Kazakhstan

Logo TOTAL

for more information
www.total.com

Why have you decided to join the French Pavilion?

Total, the world’s fourth-largest oil and gas company and top ranking French company (in terms of market capitalization), has been present in Kazakhstan since 1993. It is clear to us that EXPO 2017, to take place in summer 2017 in Astana on the theme “Future Energy” will be an event of major international importance. For Total, a responsible and committed company, the issues surrounding future energy choices are close to our heart. It is our business to meet the energy needs of a growing world population and our customers’ new expectations. We do this by providing more accessible energy, in a safer, cleaner, more efficient and more innovative way. Energy and the environment are inextricably linked and we are very conscious of the role we have to play in order to reduce our environmental impact and encourage the responsible use of energy. The COP21 energy summit held in Paris last year perfectly illustrates that the battle against climate change is a global concern for governments, companies, NGOs and all citizens. At Total, we take action: we have applied internal carbon pricing since 2008 and we promote development of carbon pricing mechanisms in major economies. This year we have integrated the International Energy Agency’s 2°C Scenario into our strategy at Group level to improve the carbon intensity of our energy mix: producing more gas, halting all our coal operations, continuing our development in renewable energies (especially solar) and making advances in carbon capture, use and storage technologies. Total is a major energy player today and will remain so in the future.

What innovations would you like to present there?

Innovation is key at Total. Innovating is at the core of our strategy. Thanks to its integrated model, Total has demonstrated its capacity to adapt to new challenges by diversifying its offer. We innovate at every level within our activities – from production through to energy distribution and customer relations – and in a variety of forms. For EXPO 2017 we want to focus on our renewable energies activities. As a major energy player, our contribution to new energies is in fact a strategic choice as well as an industrial responsibility. Via our subsidiary SunPower, we are among the top 3 in the world in the solar power industry and we want to develop our activities across the entire value chain. Not only do we intend to manufacture more efficient panels but we also propose to produce energy by developing and operating solar power plants. To pursue developing solar industry of the future, we are also working on energy management and storage. Total, a producer of biofuels for over 20 years and now a leading European distributor, is also focusing on developing bioenergies (biofuels, biolubricants, biosourced plastics, etc.). It is all these innovations, the fruit of partnerships built in R&D with university centres of excellence and of equity investment in startups, that we want to show you at Astana Expo 2017.

Innovation is key at Total. Innovating is at the core of our strategy.

What does Kazakhstan offer?

Kazakhstan has been a strategic partner of Total for many years. With a presence there for more than 20 years, we have established relations of trust and cooperation in this country. Total E&P Kazakhstan holds a 16.81% interest in one of the largest hydrocarbon fields in the world: “Kashagan” located in the Caspian Sea and operated by NCOC (North Caspian Operating Company). This massive project is in itself a technological “first” due to the combination of complexities encountered (a land-locked sea that freezes in winter, shallow water, a high pressure reservoir, the presence of H2S, and an extremely sensitive environment). Numerous innovations have been designed and implemented during the development of the Kashagan project. Alongside our oil and gas projects, we are very much involved in societal projects in Kazakhstan. One example is the “KazWeld” initiative which resulted in the Republic of Kazakhstan being granted official membership of the International Institute of Welding. We also helped launch a full welding training programme (from professional development through to a master of welding engineering qualification). Total has also forged strong partnerships with Kazakhstan universities (Karaganda State University, Kazakh-British Technical University, Academy of Public Administration, Nazarbayev University) to promote high level university education and so contribute to the development of future talent in Kazakhstan. Total, in partnership with the national research laboratory NURIS (Nazarbayev University Research and Innovation System), has launched a solar energy pilot project involving trials on SunPower Maxeon technology (able to concentrate the sun’s energy by a factor of 7, compared with conventional solar modules). All these initiatives, together with our participation in EXPO 2017, demonstrate the common goal of the Republic of Kazakhstan and of Total to move together towards a sustainable energy future for all.

Interview of July 8, 2016.

Share With:

a

Total

Total

Pascal Bréant

Pascal Bréant, représentant du Groupe Total au Kazakhstan et Directeur Général de “Total E&P Kazakhstan”

Logo Total

pour en savoir plus
www.total.com

Pourquoi avez-vous décidé de vous joindre au pavillon français ?

Total, quatrième compagnie pétrolière et gazière internationale et première entreprise française (en termes de capitalisation boursière), est présente au Kazakhstan depuis 1993. Il nous apparait évident que l’Exposition Internationale qui va se dérouler à Astana durant l’été 2017 sur le thème « Energie du Futur » est un événement d’une importance majeure. Pour Total, société responsable et engagée, la réflexion sur l’énergie du futur nous est en effet très proche. C’est notre métier de répondre aux besoins énergétiques d’une population mondiale en croissance ainsi qu’aux nouvelles attentes de nos clients. Nous le faisons en fournissant une énergie plus abordable, d’une façon plus sûre, plus propre, plus efficace, plus innovante. Énergie et environnement sont intimement liés, nous sommes conscients du rôle que nous avons à jouer pour réduire notre impact et promouvoir un usage responsable de l’énergie. Le sommet sur l’énergie COP21 qui s’est déroulé à Paris l’an dernier est en ce sens une parfaite illustration que la lutte contre le changement climatique est une préoccupation globale qui concerne à la fois les États, les entreprises, les ONG et l’ensemble des citoyens. Chez Total, nous agissons : ainsi, nous appliquons un prix interne du carbone depuis 2008 et nous encourageons le développement de mécanismes de tarification de carbone dans les grandes zones économiques. Cette année, nous avons intégré le scénario 2°C de l’Agence Internationale de l’Énergie dans notre stratégie au niveau du Groupe, pour notamment améliorer l’intensité carbone de notre mix énergétique : produire plus de gaz, abandonner toutes nos activités dans le charbon, poursuivre notre développement dans les énergies renouvelables (notamment le solaire), se développer dans les technologies de captage, stockage et valorisation du CO2 Total est un grand acteur de l’énergie aujourd’hui et il le restera demain.

Quelles sont les innovations que vous souhaitez y présenter ?

Innovation est un maître mot chez Total. Innover est au cœur de notre stratégie. Grâce à son modèle intégré, Total a montré sa capacité d’adaptation face aux nouveaux défis en diversifiant son offre. Nous innovons sur chacun des maillons de la chaine de nos activités – de la production à la distribution de l’énergie jusqu’aux clients – et sous diverses formes. Pour « Expo-2017 », nous souhaitons nous focaliser sur nos activités dans les énergies renouvelables. Acteur majeur de l’énergie, notre contribution aux énergies nouvelles est en effet un choix stratégique autant qu’une responsabilité industrielle. Via notre filiale SunPower, nous faisons partie du top 3 mondial de l’industrie solaire et nous voulons nous développer sur l’ensemble de la chaine de valeur. Nous n’avons pas uniquement vocation à fabriquer les panneaux les plus efficaces mais aussi à produire de l’énergie par le développement et l’exploitation de centrales solaires. Pour préparer le solaire de demain, nous nous intéressons également à la gestion et au stockage de l’énergie. Total, producteur de biocarburants depuis plus de 20 ans et aujourd’hui leader européen de la distribution, a également l’ambition de développer les bioénergies (biocarburants, biolubrifiant, plastique biosourcé…). Ce sont toutes ces innovations, fruits de partenariats bâtis en R&D avec des pôles universitaires d’excellence et de prises de participation dans des startups, que nous voulons vous montrer à Astana.

Innovation est un maître-mot chez Total. Innover est au cœur de notre stratégie.

Qu’est-ce que le Kazakhstan représente pour vous ?

Le Kazakhstan est un partenaire stratégique de Total depuis de longues années. Grâce à plus de 20 ans de présence, nous avons établi des relations de confiance et de coopération dans ce pays. Total E&P Kazakhstan est actionnaire à hauteur de 16.81% de l’un des plus grands gisements d’hydrocarbures du monde : « Kashagan » situé en mer Caspienne et opéré par NCOC (North Caspian Operation Company). Ce projet géant est en soi une « première » technologique en raison de la combinaison des complexités rencontrées (mer enclavée et gelée en hiver, eaux peu profondes, réservoir haute pression, présence de H2S, environnement extrêmement sensible). De nombreuses innovations ont été conçues et mises en œuvre lors du développement du projet Kashagan. Parallèlement à nos projets pétroliers, nous sommes beaucoup impliqués dans des projets sociétaux au Kazakhstan. Il s’agit notamment du projet « KazWeld » qui a abouti à la nomination de la République du Kazakhstan comme membre officiel d’un « Institut de Soudure International ». Nous avons aussi contribué au lancement d’un cycle complet de formation en soudure (de la formation professionnelle jusqu’au master d’ingénieur en soudure). Total a également bâti de solides coopérations avec des universités kazakhes (Karaganda State University, Kazakh-British Technical University, Academy of Public Administration, Nazarbayev University) pour promouvoir un enseignement universitaire de haut niveau et contribuer ainsi au développement de futurs talents au Kazakhstan. Total, en partenariat avec le laboratoire national de recherche NURIS (Nazarbayev University Research and Innovation System), a lancé un projet pilote sur l’énergie solaire visant à tester la technologie SunPower Maxeon (dont la capacité de concentration est 7 fois plus importante que des modules solaires classiques). L’ensemble de ces projets, ainsi que notre participation à « Expo-2017 », est une preuve de l’ambition de la République du Kazakhstan et de Total d’avancer ensemble vers l’énergie du futur en développant toutes les formes possibles d’une collaboration fructueuse.

Interview du 8 Juillet 2016.

Share With: